The Wales Open Criterium - Update!


Friday July 7th 2017

The schedule is here!! Abergavenny has once again been chosen for inclusion in the British Cycling National Circuit Series which sees the country’s best riders and teams go head-to-head over seven rounds of circuit racing.  

This National Series race is sponsored by HSBC and will provide for an action packed evening of racing with a full supporting programme of events.

MJ Events Support Services continue with their sponsorship of the towns Traders Cardiac charity race alongside the Abergavenny Town Council, Monmouthshire County Council and local sponsors to enable the event to continue to grow.

Start of the 2016 Wales Open Criterium - Picture by Alex Whitehead/  

Contested over four weeks from June to July, the series brings fast and furious racing to seven town centres as the riders do battle for the coveted series title.

In the HSBC UK | National Circuit Series an individual title is awarded. The 2016 series was won by Sebastian Mora Vedri of Team Raleigh GAC.


Friday 7th July 2017 Schedule of Events

  • 5.00 - Come and Try Schools Race
  • 5.45 - Youth Under 10/12 - BC members
  • 6.05 - Youth Under 12 - 20 mins
  • 6.25 - Youth A/B - 25 min
  • 7.15- MJ Events Support Traders Cardiac Race
  • Carnival Event 15 mins
  • 8.00 - The JP Signs & Print Wales Open Criterium
  • Elite Race 60 mins + 5 laps

Riders List 2017 - Top British riders entered!

1 Jonathan Mould JLT Condor
2 Graham Briggs JLT Condor
3 Edward Clancy OBE JLT Condor
4 Alex Frame JLT Condor
5 Matthew Gibson JLT Condor
6 Brenton Jones JLT Condor
7 Thomas Moses JLT Condor
8 Alistair Slater JLT Condor
9 Angus Claxton 100% ME
10 Adam Hartley 100% ME
11 Jacob Hennessy 100% ME
12 Reece Wood 100% ME
13 Ryan Ashcroft 365 4 Bikes Academy
14 Morgan Hughes 365 4 Bikes Academy
15 Tim James 365 4 Bikes Academy
16 Alex Littlewood 365 4 Bikes Academy
17 Oliver Peckover 365 4 Bikes Academy
18 Dexter Gardias BIKE Channel Canyon
19 James Lowsley-Williams BIKE Channel Canyon
20 Matthew Nowell BIKE Channel Canyon
21 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon
22 Robert Partridge BIKE Channel Canyon
23 Rory Townsend BIKE Channel Canyon
24 Jason White Bristol RC
25 Hefin Evans Bynea CC
26 Ryan Watkins Cardiff Ajax CC
27 Callum Ferguson Catford CC Equipe/Banks
28 George Fowler Catford CC Equipe/Banks
29 Will Fox Catford CC Equipe/Banks
30 Christopher Lawless Axeon Hagens Berman CT
31 Ryan Brain Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
32 David Mixell Ely Race Club
33 Josh Sandman Ely Race Club
34 Kinsey McIlquham KTM Impsport RT
35 Matt Cronshaw Madison Genesis
36 Joe Evans Madison Genesis
37 Matthew Holmes Madison Genesis
38 Tobyn Horton Madison Genesis
39 Tom Chandler Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
40 Bertie Newey Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
41 George Pym Metaltek Kuota Racing Team
42 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling
43 William Harper One Pro Cycling
44 Joshua Hunt One Pro Cycling
45 Isaac Mundy PMR@Toachim House
46 Adam Kenway Raleigh GAC
47 Grant Martin Raleigh GAC
48 Fraser Martin Raleigh GAC
49 Sebastian Mora Vedri Raleigh GAC
50 Adrià Moreno Sala Raleigh GAC
51 Tristan Robbins Raleigh GAC
52 Oliver Hayward Rhino Velo Race Team
53 Oliver Luff Ride 24/7
54 Dave Tilling Ride 24/7
55 Oscar Hutchings VC Equipe - Flix
56 Andrew Turner VC Equipe - Flix
57 Andrew Hawdon Wheelbase Altura MGD
58 Joel Lewis Wheelbase Altura MGD
59 Levi Moody Wheelbase Altura MGD
60 Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD
61R Milo Girardet Hereford Cycling Club
62R Andrew Williams Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club
63R Owen James Cotes d'Armor Marie Morin
64R Alex Touche Provision Race Team

Read more here